Wake up call

This call came at an ungodly hour, in between my need to really study hard for my Gen Ed summer course and getting hold of my aunt in Denmark to inform her that I am heading to Europe before Christmas (something I’m pretty sure she won’t be happy to know). And I have less than 10 hours to buy my ticket there.

Plus, I’m supposed to be heading to Cambodia in 9 hours time.

Fortunate or unfortunately, I stumbled upon stuff that informs me what Malaysian youths, like myself are up to these days.

This is what hit me: I know nothing about my own country. Youth have come a long way, and here is exactly what I wished for years ago when I was a college kid in Malaysia.

These people, my fellow country friend, my peers, my voice–all fighting, expressing, demonstrating, learning and most importantly doing something, passionately for the country, for a better cause, better future. All contrary to my views of Malaysia being a backward developing country and that most kids these days can’t be bothered with how the country turns out to be because their life has just been all too comfortable.

It is indeed a relief, a comfort to know that actions are taken and voices are channelled actively and rightfully. At the same time, it’s a tight slap on my face, because I am the bratty Malaysian kid that complains and criticises, but ignorant of what is really happening out there.

Take the Nov 25 Hidraf rally for example, I failed to read between the lines when clearly the purpose of the demonstration was not as simple as “handing up a memorandom to the British Monarch” for millions in compensation for the Malaysian Indians. This article beautifully highlights the Indian plight and captured the essence of the issue.

Ultimately dear Malaysian friends, people aren’t drawn to the streets, risking all they have, simply to sue the British government. No, that is simply not logical. They are moved to such lengths by deep-seated frustrations, and pent-up humiliation.

We can either choose to dismiss the event as a communal aberration, or we may seize the outstretched hand of the helpless Indian, and pull him into a truly noble cause. The future, my brothers and sisters, is in our hands.

by M. NITHIYANANTHAN, a Indian Malaysian studying at Princeton University

It is these words that deeply shook that Malaysian part of me.

In Malaysia, a Malay problem is a national problem. A Chinese problem is a racial problem. An Indian problem, however, is not a problem. And as long as things remain that way, we will have simmering Malay anger, simmering Chinese frustration, but boiling Indian desperation.

by johnleemk

and here’s another one that candidly but undeniably truthful picture.

High Court of Malaysia taken on a rainy day

I can’t even decide if I will return to Malaysia after my studies have been completed, nor do I know what I could do.

But i do know, that in knowing, I woke up to my surroundings. Next up is to embrace the truth.

2 Responses to “Wake up call”

  1. In Malaysia, a Malay problem is a national problem. A Chinese problem is a racial problem. An Indian problem, however, is not a problem. And as long as things remain that way, we will have simmering Malay anger, simmering Chinese frustration, but boiling Indian desperation.

    🙂 Interesting…

    How sad that you may not be returning to Malaysia after your studies. I am sure you are as frustrated as I am.

  2. That’s actually the Sultan Abdul Samad building, it used to house the Federal Court of Malaysia, nto the High Court. The High Court is down the road from here. The entire precinct is abandoned and the high court has moved to Jalan Duta and the Federal Court has moved to Putrajaya.

Leave a Reply

