Am I Busy or Productive?

“How are you lately?”

“Busy.”

Simple common answer I always give, and how about you?

However, here’s what I learned:

These days everyone is busy. We’re busy with work commitments, family commitments, community commitments and study commitments just to name a few. We all seem to start each day with a long and demanding ‘To Do’ list.

The big question is – Are the items on your ‘To Do’ list leading you towards achieving your most important goals?

Being truly productive does not involve simply getting a lot of tasks done. It involves identifying and completing the specific tasks that will lead you where you really want to go.

A great question to ask yourself at the end of each day is:

“Am I a step closer to achieving my goals than I was this morning?”

By Anthony Fernando, for more see http://www.anthonyfernando.com/2008/03/13/busy-or-productive/

In other words, Busy does not equal to Productivity. However, busy bees like myself, like to keep ourselves busy in order to prove that we have been utilising time well. A very bad habit, almost as bad as smoking, in my opinion, cos’ it’s addictive. It sums up quotes like: Don’t work hard, work smart etc. It’s easy pointing this out, but most of the time, we fail to see that we are working too much or rather wasting time working, if that make sense.

When we are busy, tired and exhausted. We suffer. We complain. We don’t enjoy life.

Sometimes, when we are free, we think that we are wasting time cos’ we’re busy. Resting on our laurels is a big boo boo. Doing nothing means procrastinating. Sleeping means being a lazy bum bum. These are just destructive thinking habits, cos’ if sleeping now is going to make you run a longer journey; then push the work aside. That’s why when we are free we worry as well, simply because we are free. Sounds ironic but this happens to me all the time. The world seems to develop and spin so fast that I feel the need to get my head around it before I’m left of it: Hate being a dinasour.

In short, busy, we worry; not busy, worry even more. Oh boy, this is never going to end.

So, when my bed calls for me. I will answer it. I hope you do to.

Well, at least this post would be my most productive thing I’ve done for the day =)

2 Responses to “Am I Busy or Productive?”

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Tina Russell

  2. We couldn’t agree more. These days, the ‘busier’ we are, the more important we seem. If someone asks you “How are you?” and you say “Relaxed and calm”, what would they think? That response is so outside the norm – but how great would it be if we could say that?!

    So yes – be productive, not busy. Live life. Enjoy it.

    Cali Ressler and Jody Thompson
    Creators of the Results-Only Work Environment (ROWE)
    Authors of the forthcoming book “Why Work Sucks and How to Fix It”

Leave a Reply

